Skip navigation

A lot of people I really like have been claiming this show is the best ever, and yet I simply can’t go beyond the first episode. My body simply won’t take it, I still shiver thinking about the sheer boredom I endured watching the first episode some weeks ago.

So there is a girl and she’s real important, but she’s also sad and in danger one unexplained way or the other… then because of some weird circumstances the girl is taken away willingly by even stranger women, who walk around in the dark standing next to brightly lit bridges to avoid being seen, and the girl is finally handed to a student because the blond chick somehow trusts him even though he is a student and… Ugh.

The story is simply too ridiculous. And not in the good way either. Instead of using some sort of logical structure to get me involved in a believable world, the story drops the ball by making crazy jumps from one point to the other, and giving bad reasons for the characters doing what they do. It might make all sense at some future point, but why should anyone care? Especially the way the protagonist just leaves the little girl in his room, saying he’ll be back in 10 hours or something, what the hell is he thinking? It would make sense if he was in kindergarten, and can therefore not see the consequences coming, but he is like 16/17 years old! And after he has lost her, some weird Ninja employed by the blond chick appears, looking really cool and defiant just like a real operative, because operatives are all emotionless robots and therefore are not easily spotted. Give me a goddamn break. For me the whole story reeked of a bad setup to get the protagonist to live with the girl, so they could have humorous and/or other melodramatic (and unexplained) episodes together.

You might argue that the story gets better later on, but I simply don’t want to watch. It’s not like I can’t take some boring starter episodes, but the story just gave me the unwavering feeling, that this series is going to be another overly melodramatic bore.

Sorry Kurenai, no second try.

One Comment

  1. “A lot of people I really like have been claiming this show is the best ever, and yet I simply can’t go beyond the first episode.”

    That’s right. Go to episode six, watch it, and drop the show :P

    I usually watch at least three episodes to assess the show.

    “Instead of using some sort of logical structure to get me involved in a believable world”

    Some fun anime don’t have logical structure and believable world :P

    “You might argue that the story gets better later on”

    You are right, it does not.


Leave a comment